Gaelic Athletic Association, April 1887

Gaelic Athletic Association
A meeting of the Clare Co. Committee was held at the Town Hall, Ennis, on Sunday, March 27th, Mr. Edward Bennett in the chair. Also present – The O’Donnellon Blake Foster, Mr. J. Moran, Mr. P. McInerney and Mr. P. Ahern, Hon Sec. At the suggestion of the Chairman it was decided to divide the clubs entered for the County Championship in divisions, in order not to bring two teams too great a distance to meet each other. There were 25 entries, 22 for hurling and 3 for football, which were drawn as follows:
East Clare” :
O’Gonneloe 1st team, v. Scariff Independent H.C.
O’Gonnelloe 2nd team v. Robert Emmet Branch (Tulla)
Smith O’Brien Branch (Killaloe) v. Daniel O’Connell Branch (Feakle)
Wolfe Tone Branch (Bodyke) v. Glenoniera
To hurl at Scariff on Sunday April 17th.

West Clare
Kilkeedy v. Ruan
William O’Brien Branch (Killamona) v. Fionn mac Cumhaille Branch (Kilfenora)
Rath and Kilnaboy v. Canon
To hurl at Corofin April 24th.

Ennis District:
Crusheen v. Davitt Branch, Inch
A. M. Sullivan’s Branch, Ennis v. Barefield
B. Thomas Davis branch, Ennis v. Wolfe Tone branch, Kilmaley
C. Leamb Deargaboo branch, Dysart v. Drumquin
D. To hurl at Ennis, on Sunday May 1st.

Taken from “The Munster News and Limerick and Clare Advocate”,
April 2, 1887