Inquisitions, Co. Fermanagh

There were what were called Exchequer and Chancery Inquisitions in those days, which required Juries, and these juries were composed of leading citizens. I give a few of them here, the first having reference to the celebrated George Montgomery, Bishop of Clogher, a man of great prominence in his day, who brought several of his family to Ulster and did well for them. The recurrence of local names of distinction and the designations of the townlands of residence of the juries will be observed :

Juries of Exchequer Inquisitions of Co. Fermanagh

No. 2. Jas I. Taken about George (Montgomery) the Bishop of Clogher on 2 March Jas I (1621), at Magherevelick (Magheraveely)

Clinton Maude, Symon Munford, Hugh Montgomery, Jn. Presly, Jn. Clarke, Thomas Tateringham, gents. ; Jas. Owen, yeoman ; Rory Maguire gt. ; Donel Boy O’Mulpatrick, gt. ; Cormock M’Manus, yeoman ; Patrick M’Coronie, yeoman ; Gillernow O’Beran, yeoman ; and Xtopher Dixenson, yeoman.

No. 3. Jas I. Taken about Bryan O’Skallan (Scollan), on 3rd Oct. 20th, Jas. I. (1622) at Enniskillen
Clinton Maude, Jas. Arnot, Hugh Stokes, Thos. Teballs, Thos. Presly, Thos. Simpson, Edw. Rogers, Charles Brookes, Alex. Hughmes and Hugh Montgomery, all gents. ; and Jas. Dundas, Donnell M’Cormack and Teige Reagh O’Bryan, yeomen.

p. 223

No. 1 Jas II. Taken about Roger Boyle, the Bishop of Cloger, at Lisnaskea 19 April 4th, Jas. II (168–).
Cuconoght oge Maguire, Edmond oge Maguire, Bryan Maguire, Rabt. Ellett, Phelim Maguire, Tirlogh Maguire, Jas. Montgomery, Arthur M’Carley, Wm. Moore, Alex. Gredin, Christopher O’Keenan and Alex. M’Donnell all gents.

No. 1. Wm. And Mary. Taken about Cuconaght Maguire on 5 May 1693, at Eniskillen.
Jason Hassartt of Mullymesker
Laurence Crafford of Bonnybrook (Derrybrusk parish)
David M’Custian of Iniskillen (Enniskillen)
Jas. West of Killymaddue (?Kilnamadoo, Boho parish ; or )
Alex. Forquer of Iniskillen (sometimes spelt Forker)
George Rankin of Moneymarget
(Monymarget is the Irish name for the townland known as Silverhill (Devenish parish). The Rankins of Tully (next townland) was one of the oldest families of the county, and was occupied by members of the family until about 1872, when the Misses Rankin went to Dublin)
Jn. Maynes of Mountsieborough
Richd. Evatt of Tully
Jas. Dundas of Derrymeanagh
George Rankin of Inniskillen
Wm. Bell of Corrick
Wm. Cottington of Iniskillen

All seals are apparently the same.

No. 39 Charles 1. taken 14 Sept, 1638 at Enniskillen, about Charles Waterhouse, before Richd. Guttridge, Provost of Enniskillen, by the following Jury:
Thomas Knowles of Castlecoole, gt.
Pat O’Quigley of Clonyferyn, gt.
Jn. Pulloge of Shean, gt. (Inishmacsaint parish)
Pat M’Hugh of Cosclavdin, gt.
Cahel Ofe Maguire, of Lary, gt.
Thos. Furbor(?), of Maguiresbridge
Jn. Aderson of Enniskyllen, gt.
Thos. Serjent of Killikey, gt.
Phelim O’Case, of Montiagh, gt.
Jn. Johnson, of Tully, gt.
Chas. Handel, of Mullaghnagowan (?Mullynagowan, Galloon parish)
Cormack M’Collo Maguire, gt.
Thos. Grosse of Clankelly, gt.

No. 38. Charles 1. taken 14 Sept, 1638 at Eniskillen, about Phelim Maguire, before Richd. Guttridge, Provost of Eniskillen, by the following Jury:
Francis Wootten of Monaghan
Pat Murphy of Monaghan
p. 224
Thos. Harris of Ballyneshallen
Hugh M’Loughlin of Ballysheske
Pat M’Brien M’Mahon of Ballylackey
Hugh M’Gilduffe M’Mahon of Ballyduffy
Owen Patrick Conn O’Duffy, of Ballyduffy
Mahon M’Mahon of Ballydromgowlagh
Rosse M’Laghlen M’Kenna of Ballaghreske
James M’Phillip M’Terence of Ballaghreske
Ardell M’Phillip M’Kenna of Ballenveagh
Dunslevy Boy M’Kenna, of Ballentenney

Townlands checked against 1851 listing to here

No. 40. Charles 1. taken at Eniskillen, 9 Sept 1639, about Jn. Sedborough, by the following Jury:
Phelim O’Cassidy, of Muntiagh
Alex. Wiggins of Larvey
Thos. Presley of Lisneshilly
Jerome Emery of Cash, yeoman
Thos Tibbalis, of Knoappagh, yeoman
Chas. Heynolds, of Mullaghnegowan, yeoman
Wm. Amer, of Downsee, yeoman
Jn. Patterson of Drumreagh
William Wilson of Clabby, and Jn. Mynes of Mullasillagh, yeomen
Jas. M’Manus of Lismalower, gt.
Manus M’Manus, of Aghalane, gt.
Anthony Barton of Bogheallan, gt.
Wm. Ayer of Carrickreagh, gt.
Archibald Armstrong, of Dromsken, gt.
George Dickeson, of Lettergreen
Jas. Johnson of Drumadowen, gt.
George Bradshaw of Castleroe
George Ward (?) of Castlenew
No. 1 Charles II. Taken 1st Feb 13th, Chas. II (!661), at Eniskillen, about Bryan Maguire, by following Jury:
Jn Dane, Wm. Duncan, Wm. Wilkin, Jn. Emerson, Js. Campbell, Jas. Buchanan, Jn. Russell, Edw. Dixon. Edw. Copeland, Pat M’Eleeve, Robt. Clarke and Hugh Donelson, all gents of Eniskillen.
Seals in very bad order

Nos. 2, 3, 4 and 5. Charles II. All taken 9 April 1662, at Enniskillen.
No. 2, About Allen Cooke, Jury:
Edw. Bampton, senior, Jn. Johnston, Adam Kearnes, George Burne, Jn. Wales, Edw. BAmpton, junior, Rowland Betty, Will Bennett, Henry Notley, Jas. King. Will Barton, Robt. Johnston, Jas Arnot, Jn Wardell and Jn. Johnston, junior, all gents.

p. 225
No. 3, about Ralph Gore, by Jury:
Edw. Brampton, senior
Jn. Johnston, senior
Robt. Johnston
Jas. Arnet
George Burne
Jn. King
Jn. Wardell
Rowland Betty
Henry Notley
Edward Bampton, junior
Jn. Johnston, junior
Will Barton
Jn. Miles
Adam Kearnes
Will Boid

No. 4. Jn Higate and No. 5, Martin Baxter
Names of Jury almost illegible, but almost the same as Nos. 2 & 3

No. 6. Charles II. Taken 2 Sep, 1662, at Lowtherstown, about Gerard Lowther, contains copy of his will dated 14 Nov., 1659, Jury:
Edwd. Bampton, senior, of Drumcunny
Thos. Humphrey, of Drumard
Wm. Graham, of Drumerin
Walter Erwing, of Ballynent
David Graham of Derrynany
Wm. Wilson of Liscreevin
Leonard Amery, of Drumnerenagh
Gawen Blackley of Manake
Thos. Bell of Drumshean
Jn. Armstrong of Cullenfield
Thos. Chittocke, of Cash
Wm. Johnston of Templemaghery
Wm. Miles of Lissnarrogg
Edward Humphrey of Rosquar
Miles Hollywood of Durass
All gents.

No. 29. Charles II. Taken 16 March, 1630/31, at Eniskellen about Symon Presley, by Jury:
Christopher Irwin, of Lowtherstown
Thos. Edwick of Clankillew
Jn. Young of Coylton
Edward Shaniell of Dromoule
Pat M’Hugh of Cossarly
Donald Deane Maguire of Brackagh
Thomas Oge Maguire of Tullaghone
Wm. Hall of Lisbofin
Wm. Atkinson of Inishkillen
Jn. Doen of Coirknishe
Cormock M’Colloe of Kilcreen
Cormic M’Awly of Derrycoolaghtyen
Phelim O’Cassidy of Moutar

No. I. Charles 1. taken 22 Sept 2nd, Chas. I, (1826), at Eniskillen about Conor Roe Maguire, kt., Jury:
Alex. Creaghton of Aghaward
Edward Skamill of Drumaw
Jn. Skarlett of Killhola
Thos. Mayne of Castlecoole
Wm. Parkins of Trowry
Pat Fitzsimons of Killsallogh
Nicholas Osenbrook of Mullaghveagh
Wm. Atkinson, Enniskillen
Thos. King of Eniskillen, gt.
Richd. Guttrich of Lisgoule
Gerald Wiggins of Eniskillen
Patrick oge M’Coadd, of Drumbrochus
Thos. Mantan of Castlecoole
Richd. Jackson of Ruskearne
Edw. Rogers of Latrim
All gents”

Comment: Extracts from “The History of Enniskillen”

pages 222-225

Hangings Manorhamilton – Fermanagh

1641 Rebellion

Extracts from “The History of Enniskillen”

pages 222-225

Inquisitions of Fermanagh

1641 Rebellion

The spellings below are as written in the History of Enniskillen and these were transcribed as written. It is not advisable to search this page for a particular placename or surname spelled as you know it.

Abbreviated first names : Jas = James, Jn/Jno = John or Jonathan, Xtopher = Christopher, Wm. = William, Alex. = Alexander, Richd = Richard, Pat = Patrick, Thos = Thomas, Chas=Charles, Edw=Edward, Will/Willm=William