Lewis’ Topographical Dictionary, Ireland

Lewis’ Topographical Dictionary Ireland comprises of several counties, cities, boroughs, parish and villages – with historical and statistical descriptions – of Ireland.

  • Place
  • County
  • Parish
  • Content
    BALLYCROGUE, a parish, in the barony and county of CARLOW, and province of LEINSTER, 3 miles (S. E. by E.) from Carlow; containing 72 inhabitants.

    This small parish is situated on the river Burren, and consists of only one townland, comprising 385 statute acres. In civil matters it is considered as forming part of Ballinacarrig, and is one of the three parishes which constitute the union of Ballinacarrig or Staplestown, in the diocese of Leighlin : the tithes amount to £21. 2 shillings 6 pence.