Lewis’ Topographical Dictionary, Ireland

Lewis’ Topographical Dictionary Ireland comprises of several counties, cities, boroughs, parish and villages – with historical and statistical descriptions – of Ireland.

  • Place
    Raloo, Ralloo
  • County
  • Parish
    Raloo, Ralloo
  • Content
    RALOO, or RALLOO, a parish, in the barony of LOWER BELFAST, county of ANTRIM and province of ULSTER, 5.25 miles (N.) from Carrickfergus; containing 5171 inhabitants.

    It comprises, according to the Ordnance survey, 6105.75 statute acres of land, of which about one-fourth is of good and one-fourth of medium quality, and the remainder boggy and mountainous.

    It is a rectory, in the diocese of Connor, constituting part of the union of Carrickfergus and corps of the deanery of Connor : the tithes amount to £148. 12s.

    In the Roman Catholic divisions it is part of the union or district of Larne and Carrickfergus.

    At Toreagh, Ballyvallagh, and Loughmorn, are schools under the National Board, in which about 180 children are educated ; and there are three private schools, in which are About 100 children.