Tag Archives: townlands

Poor Law Union/Civil Registration District, Antrim

Poor Law Union = Civil Registration District

  1. Antrim
  2. Ballycastle
  3. Ballymoney
  4. Ballymena
  5. Belfast
  6. Coleraine
  7. Larne
  8. Lisburn
  9. Lurgan

Townlands in each Poor Law Union (Civil Registration District) as per townlands listed in 1851 census of Ireland.  The web page to which you are being directed below is hosted by the Leitrim Roscommon Genealogy web site.  The book from which the list of placenames was created was based on the townlands listed in the Irish 1851 census and a man who we all knew as John Broderick a.k.a. Sean Ruad (R.I.P.) was responsible for having the whole book typed up by helpful individuals over a number of years.  This book the ‘General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes & Baronies of Ireland’, which was printed by Alexander Thom & Co. of Dublin, gives you the size of a townland, the barony that the townland was in, the name of the civil parish, and the name of the Poor Law Union.  The names of some of these townlands have changed or may be known under a different spelling locally.  Poor Law Unions (Civil Registration Districts) spread through more than one county at times e.g. in this list we have Coleraine and Coleraine town is in Derry or Londonderry County.  Anyone born, married or died in one of the townlands of the Coleraine Poor Law Union/Civil Registration District will be registered under Coleraine and not as part of Antrim.

Antrim Poor Law Union

Ballycastle Poor Law Union

Ballymoney Poor Law Union

Ballymena Poor Law Union

Belfast Poor Law Union

Coleraine Poor Law Union

Larne Poor Law Union

Lisburn Poor Law Union

Lurgan poor Law Union